Five Elements

constitute the five kinds of materialized elements deprived of the energies of the myriad livings existing in heaven and earth. Western philosophers interpreted Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water as the “Five Elements (five kinds of element)” which represent the condition and nature of things.

The theory of five elements explains the relation between man and things in nature and the absolute connection between them. It is this connection which impels the continuous development and changes in all things.

However, these five kinds of element have the implication which is far beyond concrete material; they contain an even wider and profound meaning and philosophical ground.

This system translates the five elements into five virtues and five emotions. It gives an easier analysis to the status of one’s primordial nature and formative disposition, with hope to interpret the various factors of the content of one’s nature and psychological behavior.

Hence, this is a set of guiding tool for self-awareness and self-education.

From the legacy of ancient Eastern wisdom, we have established a simple and practical system.

Experiences and inspirations are gained from the mechanism of creation in nature. By applying and practicing what is acquired, the quality of life and the civilization of the quality of ethics are created.

The philosophy of five elements deprived of the quality of material in the energy of nature is transformed into humanistic emotions…

The virtue of Wood transformed into benevolence

The virtue of Fire transformed into propriety

The virtue of Earth transformed into trust

The virtue of Metal transformed into righteousness

The virtue of Water transformed into wisdom

Therefore, nurture and extend these five virtues with the hope to attain the body of goodness in human nature and to reach the status of perfection in a person.